Applications for Fanchon F. Funk Scholars Award and the Mary L. Collins Teacher Education Award are now open!

Applications for both are due October 29th. Please read below for more details. 

The Fanchon “Fancy” Funk Award 2021

The Fanchon F. Funk Scholars Awards are bestowed upon pre-service students recognized for their potential as outstanding future educators. The privilege and opportunity come in the form of discourse and working with esteemed members of the teacher education profession at the Florida Association of Teacher Educators Annual Conference. The obligation is fulfilled as these scholars assist with the conference and as they strive to achieve professional and personal goals reflecting the challenges and accomplishments characterizing the life of a professional educator.

About the Award

The award recognizes education majors who demonstrate a high level of commitment to the teaching profession. Four scholars will each receive a $500 award, a certificate and complimentary registration for the 2021 Florida Association of Teacher Educators Annual Conference (FATE) at the University of Tampa on December 3-4, 2021. Scholars will also receive a one-year complimentary student membership in FATE.

Recipients will be notified no later than November 5, 2021. Please visit for more conference details.  Applications are due October 29, 2021.

Scholars will contribute by assisting conference organizers for four hours. Scholars are responsible for their transportation to and from the conference and for their overnight accommodations, if needed. Scholars are expected to attend the Awards Luncheon on Saturday, December 4, 2021 where they will be recognized for their achievements.  

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for this award the applicant must be a student currently enrolled in a teacher education program at an accredited institution of higher education in the state of Florida. An overall grade-point average of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale is requisite for consideration by the FATE Awards Committee.

The application for the Fanchon “Fancy” Funk Award is available here.

Mary L. Collins Award: Excellence in Teacher Education 2021

The Mary L. Collins Award for Excellence in Teacher Education is presented each year to an educator who has made significant and substantial contributions to teacher education in Florida. The award, established in 2000, is named for Dr. Mary Collins, Professor of Teacher Education in the Fischler Graduate School of Education at Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Collins is responsible for the revitalization of FATE and has made many contributions to teacher education at the state, regional and national levels.

The nomination must originate from a FATE member.  The Standards for Teacher Educators, published by the Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) should be taken into consideration when completing the nomination. These standards can be reviewed on the Webpage:

Award Criteria

Standards for this award include, but are not limited to, an educator who:

  • Models professional teaching practices which demonstrate knowledge, skills and attitudes reflecting best practice;
  • Inquires into and contributes to one or more areas of scholarly activity that are related to teaching, learning, and/or teacher education;
  • Inquires systematically into, and reflects on, their own practice and demonstrates commitment to lifelong professional development;
  • Provides leadership in developing, implementing, and evaluating programs for educating teachers that embrace diversity, and are rigorous, relevant, and grounded in best practice;
  • Collaborates regularly with school, university, state education department, professional associations, and community representatives to improve teaching, learning and teacher education;
  • Serves as an informed, constructively critical advocate for high quality education for all students, public understanding of educational issues, and excellence and diversity in teaching and teacher education professions; and
  • Contributes to improving the teacher education profession.

Nomination and Selection

Nomination packets for the Mary L. Collins Award for Excellence in Teacher Education may be submitted electronically or paper copy to:

Dr. Valerie Wright
Awards Committee Chair

Saint Leo University
33701 State Road 52
St. Leo, FL 33574

Notification of received nominations will be sent via email.

The deadline for receipt of the Nomination Packet is Friday, October 29, 2021

 Nomination Package:

  • A cover page to include: nominee’s name, address and telephone number, name and address of employer, job title with description of responsibilities
  • A résumé or vitae of the nominee
  • A nominating letter from a FATE member (detailing why the nominee should receive the award), and
  • Supporting letters (a minimum of two).


Applicants will be assessed by their ability to meet the standards required of a distinguished teacher educator.

The award recipient will be notified by November 5, 2021 approximately one month prior to the FATE Annual Conference where s/he will be honored during the Awards Luncheon on Saturday, December 4, 2021.

As a special guest of the conference, the recipient will receive complimentary conference registration. The recipient will also receive a plaque and will have their name engraved on a circulating plaque that includes the names of past recipients.

Please direct questions to:
Dr. Valerie Wright
Saint Leo University
33701 State Road 52
St. Leo, FL 33574

Thank you in advance for promoting quality teacher education!

The application details for the Mary L. Collins Award are attached here.